Government Approves Indian Wrestlers to Participate in Ranking Series Zagreb Open

The Government of India has approved a 55-man Indian wrestling men’s and women’s team to compete in Croatia at the 1st Ranking Series, the Zagreb Open Grand Prix (WW/GR/FS), to be held from February 1-5.

The selection was made by the Supervisory Board of the Wrestling Federation of India, constituted by the Union Ministry of Youth and Sports. A total of 12 female wrestlers, 11 Greco-Roman wrestlers and 13 male freestyle wrestlers will compete in the event, the Sports Authority of India (SAI) said in a statement.

Notable wrestlers eligible for the ranking series include Tokyo Olympians Ravi Kumar Dahiya, Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat, Anshu Malik and Deepak Punia.

This comes after several wrestlers, including a national selection at the upcoming Zagreb Open, were embroiled in a brawl with Indian Wrestling Federation’s Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, who was accused of sexual misconduct.

Bhushan Sharan Singh, who had resigned reluctantly, was replaced by a supervisory board headed by Olympic boxer Mary Kom to temporarily take over the functions of the wrestling body.

(If you have a story in and around Mumbai, be our listening citizen journalist and send it here.)

(Click here to receive electronic documents on WhatsApp daily. Click here to receive electronic documents on Telegram. Allow PDF sharing of documents on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Source link

Leave a Comment