NBA All-Star Roster, Game Day Pick

Team LeBron captain LeBron James throws the ball at the 2022 NBA All-Star Game.

The NBA All-Star Game is on February 19th. No one knows the All-Star roster until that night.

Not even the players themselves.

Team captains, either LeBron James of the Los Angeles Lakers and Giannis Antetokounmpo of Milwaukee or Kevin Durant of Brooklyn, will make their picks in a live pregame broadcast just before the game starts in Salt Lake City.

The NBA and the National Basketball Players Association announced a format change on Tuesday night.

This will be the sixth time the league has used the format of captains selecting teams, but in each of the first five cases the roster was selected days before the match.

Captains and starting players will be announced on Thursday.

James captained for his first five years and will almost certainly be captain again this year, based on the polls released by the league late last week. The leading voters in the Eastern and Western Conferences earn the right to become captains.

Durant was an early leader among East players, slightly behind Antetokounmpo in the most recent poll. He is still expected to be selected as the starter and it won’t be known until Thursday if he recaptures the East Poll lead on the final day.

Voting to determine the starting players closed on Saturday.

“I want to play,” Durant told reporters in New York on Tuesday. “I want to participate in all these events.”

James’ teams are 5-0 in the All-Star Game while he is captain.

Durant has been captain as the East’s voting leader for each of the past two years. Antetokounmpo has been in the last two years, 2019 and 2020.

The top three frontcourt players and top two guards from each conference are selected as starters, and the player who leads the overall vote in each conference serves as captain and selects the team.

Fan votes make up 50% of the selection votes, media votes 25%, and votes submitted by NBA players the remaining 25%.

The reserves, selected by seven players and NBA coaches from each conference, will be revealed on February 2nd.

Leave a Comment